Skip Menu



  • Green Tea Plantation
  • Korea Tea Museum
  • Novel Taebaek Mountains Literature Hall
  • Yulpo Tourism Complex
  • Daewon Temple
  • Jeamsan Recreation Forest
  • Mt. Illim/Yongchu Valley
  • Bibong Dinosaurs Egg Fossil Discovery Location
  • Juam Lake/Seo Jae-Phil Memorial Hall

Novel Taebaek Mountains Literature Hall

Third Tourist Attraction: Novel Taebaeksan Mountains Literature Hall


  • Location: 89-19 Hongam-ro, Beolgyo-eup, Boseong-gun Jeollanam-do (357-2 Hoejeong-ri) Jo Jeong-Rae Taebaeksan Mountains Literature Hall
  • Date of Opening : Nov. 21, 2008
    • Land area: 4,359.6㎡,
    • Building area: 979.7㎡
    • Floor area: 1,375.8㎡
  • Collection: 144 exhibition and 623 pieces(donations including handwritten copies)
  • Exhibitions
    • Preparation and writing for novel
    • Finish writing of the novel, Taebaeksan Mountains
    • After the publication
    • Author’s life and the novel “Taebaeksan Mountains”
  • Tel.: 061-858-2992/ FAX 061-858-5696
  • ※ Mural painted by artist Jong-Sang Lee
    • Installation Period: Apr. 22 – Nov. 20, 2008
    • Artist: Jong-Sang Lee
    • Size: 81m × 8m(644㎡)
  • Description
    • Longing for the reunification of Korea
    • Planned and collected natural rocks for one year beginning in April 2007
    • Collected rocks in China, including the background of the novel Taebaeksan Mountains, and India and worked on 38,720 pieces of rock in China
    • Completed the world’s biggest and first outdoor rock mural
  • You can reach Beolgyo-eup, the main stage of the novel Taebaeksan Mountains, when driving 30km along Route No. 2 in the direction of Suncheon from Boseong-eup. The title symbolizes the broken waist of the Korean Peninsula and divided nation as the Taebaeksan Mountains is the waist of Korea. The novel is composed of 10 volumes and 4 chapters. They are the sad bonfire, flare of the people, division and war, and war and division. The novel began to be published in the monthly magazine Modern Literature beginning in September 1983. The three books of the first chapter were published in 1986, the two books of the second chapter in 1987, the two books of the third chapter in 1988, and the last three books of the fourth chapter in 1989.
  • The story starts from Beolgyo and expands its background to Manchuria, Seoul, Busan and Gangwon Province. However, stories of the main characters including Yeom Sang-Jin, Kim Beom-Woo, Sohwa, Seo Min-Young, Mrs. Oeseo, An Chang-Min, Lee Ji-Sook, Mrs. Deulmol, etc. are developed realistically in the Jeolla Province dialect in a limited space, Beolgyo.
  • In addition, the background of the novel is Beolgyo where the author lived. Therefore, the places that appear in the novel exist in reality, which adds a sense of reality to the novel. The house of Mr. Hyeon opens the novel. The difficult construction process of Jungdo Bank is described well in the novel. Sohwa Bridge connects both banks of the port. Steel Bridge was where Yeom Sang-Gu had a strange fight. Honggyo is where the name Beolgyo came from. The stone-fenced church of Hoejeong-ri is where Seo Min-Young opened a night school. Yuleo looks like a bowl of water created by waterfalls coming from the mountain.......
  • There are an increasing number of tourists to Beolgyo, who want to visit the background places in the novel after reading it. In addition, visitors can have experiences of traditional cultures such as Beolgyo earthenware, natural dye, tea and dragon-embroidered mats, and visit nearby tourist attractions. They include the birth house of Chae Dong-Seon, relic site of Na Cheol, Buyongsan Park, Nakan Folk Village, etc.